McDermott '99 Named Head of Hubbard Street Dance
David McDermott '99 was recently appointed as  executive director of Hubbard Street Dance Chicago. McDermott '99 currently serves as the first deputy commissioner of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, managing daily operations and working on events like the Taste of Chicago and Chicago Architecture Biennial. Before DCASE, McDermott lead United States Senator Richard Durbin's Department of Community Outreach and served as the Senator’s political director. 

Hernandez '91 Chosen for Venice Architecture Biennale
Andres Hernandez '91 is an artist, designer and educator who co-founded the Revival Arts Collective, which seeks to use arts and culture to spur community redevelopment in Chicago. He was recently picked as one of the the Chicago-based curators for the U.S. Pavilion at the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale where he will help create material for the exhibition. 

Silvers '17 Named Golden Apple Scholar
Congratulations to Ella Silvers '17 who was recently named a Golden Apple Scholar. The Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois program is a group of 234 dynamic young people who have chosen to dedicate themselves to a future career teaching students in Illinois schools-of-need.
Bockel '06 Stars as Carol King in "Beautiful" Musical
Sarah Bockel '06 just finished performing the lead role of the musical at Bass Hall in Ft. Worth, TX. A recent review said, "Sarah Bockel was incredibly believable in the role of New York native, Carole King. Through facial expressions, body language, and an incredible vocal range, Bockel convincingly portrayed the aspiring songwriter (soon singer), growing up in Brooklyn." 

Rodriguez '02 Set to Produce New TV Show
Gina Rodriguez '02 has conquered the big and little screen and is now putting on her producer hat. The 33-year-old actress has two separate television development deals in the works including a new show that was sold to CBS. 


Ms. Chloe Bennet                                   Actress and singer

Mr. Charles W. Bidwill, Jr. '46                Owner of the Chicago Cardinals 1933-1947, Inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1967)

Rev. Lawrence H. Biondi, S.J. '57        President, St. Louis University

Mr. Andre K. Braugher '80                     Emmy award winning actor, star of TV's "Homicide"

Mr. Daniel F. Callahan '94                     Actor/Writer

Mr. Patrick R. Chovanec '88                  Business professor at Tsinghua University, economics and political commentator

Mr. Mark A. Dalesandro '86                   former MLB catcher & 3rd baseman who played for the California Angels, Toronto Blue Jays & Chicago White Sox

Mr. William Daley '66                              White House Chief of Staff and Former Secretary Of Commerce

Mr. Marc Davis '86                                    NBA Referee

Justice Mathias W. Delort '78                Illinois Appellate Court Justice

Mr. Richard H. Driehaus '60                  Businessman, Philanthropist

Mr. Anthony G. D'Souza '92                   Novelist, Sue Kaufman Prize form the American Academy of Arts and Letters

Mr. Nnanna E. Egwu '11                        Center for IL Fighting Illini men's basketball

Adm. Daniel V. Gallery (dec’d) '18       Led the capture of the German submarine U-505

Mr. Sonari R. Glinton '92                        NPR Reporter

Mr. John J. Higgins '72                          Editorial cartoonist at the Chicago Sun Times

Ms. Mellody L. Hobson '87                   President, Ariel Investments

Hon. Daniel W. Hynes '86                      Illinois State Comptroller

Mr. Joseph D. Kearney '82                     Dean, Marquette Law School

Mr. Timothy J. King '85                          Founder & CEO of Urban Prep Academies

Mr. Daniel W. Lipinski '84                      U.S. House of Representatives

Hon. Michael J. Madigan '60                 Illinois Speaker of the House

Mr. John E. Mulaney '00                         Standup comedian, writer on SNL

Mr. Bob Newhart '47                               Actor, Comedian

Ms. Gina A. Rodriguez '02                     Actress, Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Comedy Series

Ms. Nina Siemaszko '88                         Actress

Mr. Kazimierz Siemaszko '79                 Actor

Mr. Todd H. Stroger '81                         Former Cook County Board President

Rep. André M. Thapedi '86                   IL State Representative

Mr. Peter Q. Thompson '86                   CEO, Chicago Asset Management

Mr. Michael R. Wilbon '76                     Sports Columnist, ESPN host

Rev. Robert A. Wild, S.J. '57                President, Marquette University


If you would like to recommend a former classmate for the Alumni Spotlight or Notable Alumni mention, please contact 
Christine Cesak, Alumni Relations and Special Events Coordinator, at or at 312-432-8412

Copyright 2017 Saint Ignatius College Prep